Reflecting on my first year of college.

I just got back from my first year of college and I still remember the countdown  and the excited/exhaused post I wrote the night before I moved away.  I feel the need now, to reflect on the past year away.  I’m not going to say life’s been perfect, because it’s been a rough journey but, I do think I’ve made a lot of awesome friends that I sincerely hope to only grow closer to next year.  It’s weird being at home and I feel like half of my friends are strangers.  I feel out of place but when I think about it, that’s probably a good thing.  I’ve really been enjoying myself and there are some regrets I have and people I wish I had reached out to but all good things take time.

I’m really excited about my classes next year and I’m hoping all you enrolled freshmen out there are also excited for your chance to shine.  Moving away from your parents definitely has an impact on who you are and I’ve seen a lot of my friends drift away and become strangers at school.  Before I left I wrote in my journal to just remind myself who I am and who I want to be at school.  If you want to change, that’s fine.  But if you want to stay true to yourself you better make that commitment before you leave.

All in all college is great and it is undoubtedly the best years of my life so far.   Perhaps forever (but let’s hope not).

Leave a Reply

