I’ve Got My Eyes On You

I believe everybody, particularly if you’ve been closely involved in a youth or other church group, has that person or two they look up to and aspire to learn from.  Tell me if it’s just me but I think our brains are programmed towards this ‘Love at First Sight’ ordeal.  Do you believe in love at first sight?  I personally don’t but I do think when we see the right friend or significant other it clicks.  You don’t fall in love or become best friends with someone overnight, but we have our sight set and begin drawing ourselves in, opening the door.

Like any other relationship, friendships take trust and humiliation.  When the buzzer goes off we just know that it’s the right person.  We then spend so much time wondering if they also want to be friends with us and we stress over whether of not we should open up to them.

I typically sit around and wait for them to open up to me, being ignorant to the fact that that’s not the way it works.  I’ve learned that sometimes you have to be the first one to throw yourself out there.  Some people may be scared of commitments and this can make it difficult to open up and share with one another because it’s such a strong two way road.  Although not always successful, you can be sure to grow yourself as well as possibly with someone else in the long run.

On the other side of things I’ve also realized that just as we keep our eyes on others, it works the same way back at us.  I’ve learned to always keep my eyes open as there may be others out there willing to open up to me and confide with.  Accountability is such a strong force it can not be matched.  Basically what I’m trying to say is keep your eyes open, open up to others, and be willing to be used in turn for others.

Leave a Reply

