When love tears you apart.

You’ve been trying to help your friend out of a pit that they have been stuck in but they’ve become resistant.  They can’t see the trouble they’ve gotten themselves and others into and don’t know what’s best for them.  You either have to make it clear that you don’t agree with their decisions, and possibly loose them, or back off and let them learn by themselves.  What do you do?  This is how I learned that if you love something, you really do have to let it go.

Step back a couple months and I’ve got the perfect little life.  I have a job,  car, better friends than I could ask for, and a bright positive future that’s about to be altered more than I had maybe imagined.  The thought of college was beautiful but I didn’t realize all the things that would happen leading up to the move.  I love college, don’t get me wrong, but the series of events was quite… unfortunate.

I had lost friends throughout my path of eighteen years but had yet to loose someone that was once so close to me.  Our friendship didn’t last over half a year but it’s crazy how much you can learn about and grow with somebody.  When faced with the decision to either help or let be, I chose to help – or so I thought.

It’s crazy how different looking from the outside in things can be.  I could see the problem, it needed to be fixed, and I tried to help only to be chewed up and spit out.  One might say you should mind your own business but is this how we should behave toward friends?  Should we watch them fall regardless of what they tripped on or should we stand up and carry them through it.

Long story short, and also painful, I’ve learned that above all it’s important to do what is right.  It’s important to stand up to your friends and tell them what you really want to say.  You shouldn’t hold back, or let loose as that just leaves room for wrong.  I’ve seen friendships fall apart and relationships crumble.  Standing beside the pile of ashes I see the bigger picture.  There’s no resurrection here, no gluing the picture back together, but there is love; love with no bounds nor mercy.  If you truly love something, you’d rather let it go than stand and watch.

Leave a Reply

