One friend, that’s all you need.

Today I was browsing random sites (as always) and stumbled upon a post by Rean John Uehara, a writer for the ‘1stwebdesigner’ blog.  The post was titled ‘Three Types of Friends Everybody Should Have: Mentor, Peer, and Protegé’ and as I read through it, something hit me.  He put it in the perspective of the job/career force but I think it can easily be taken out of that context and into a more general sense.  He says everybody needs a mentor to help guide and instruct them, a peer whom is considered their equal, and a protegé to teach and lead.  As I read each and every ‘character’ described in his post, they were invariably resembling one friend.  I can honestly say he fits into all three ‘types’ and fulfills all of the supposed needs listed:

First, He is my mentor.  He guides and instructs me through any toils and snares I may face.  He helps carry my burdens and face reality when I fall astray.

He is my peer and we work together throughout the week, bonding as one and as equals.  We each have similar battles and we each understand each other on the same level.

Lastly, and most importantly, he is my protegé.  I do everything I can to teach him all that I know and all that I have learned in life.  I strive to help him so he does not have to face all that I have faced, alone.  I value this and gain the utmost pride from his success.

There is nothing I wouldn’t give to keep this friendship and I hold it close as it is a vital part when I find myself struggling.  Nothing can (or will) tear us apart from the trust we have in each other and I know for certain our accountability will continue for years to come.  So what about you?  Do you have a friend which you trust on the highest level?

Original post can be found here.

2 responses to “One friend, that’s all you need.

  1. Just came across your blog. Reading through your post made me think of one of my friends in particular as well. Looking forward to reading in the future!

  2. It feels good, right? I know I haven’t posted all too recently but I’ve been busy with summer stuff. I’ll get back to it.

Leave a Reply

