When girlfriends turn into social tools.

When I think of a girlfriend I think of someone that’s fun, someone I want to hang out with and just have a good time .  Every now and then I lie in bed and think about whether my view is skewed or correct.  Being seventeen I don’t really take girlfriends all that serious and I’m curious if I’m the only one.   I do have a friend or two that are in serious relationships but I just don’t know if it’s worth it at such a young age.  People change and move on with life so quickly that it’s hard to actually get serious when you know things are about to change.

In seven or eight months I’ll be moving off to who knows where for college (unless I happen to stay home which might happen) and I just don’t think I can put out the effort to make any new serious relationships.  Often I wonder if what I’m doing is wrong.  I don’t want to break someones heart near the end and have to come clean that it was all just a game.  I’m not that kind of guy and I don’t want to be.  So the question is: what are highschool relationships really about?

Are you looking for a friend, a romantic lover, or just a social tool to make you look good?  I’m going to be honest and say I’m probably leaning on the friend/social tool sides.  Seven months ago it never would have crossed my mind that I would ever be dating who I am.  Things happens, she liked me, and I just went with it.  Caught up in the drama I figured I’d give it a shot and now I’m wondering if that was the right decision after all. She, being a bit higher in the social food chain, surprised me with the ‘yes’ after I asked her out.

We had known each other for quite some time (same youth group) but I had never taken any time to really talk to her.  I’m a flirty guy so I guess it looked as though I was head over heels for her with my flirty comments and gestures.  All of my friends at school has said shes out of my league and I have to agree.  She looks way too good to be going out with me and thats what hurts even more.  She’s an honest, good girl but I feel as though I may have been blinded.  Looks last for a few months but now I honestly have gotten to the point where I don’t really care.  I hate it and now I just don’t know what to do. So really: what are high school relationships about?

6 responses to “When girlfriends turn into social tools.

  1. You shouldn’t let the whole “social chain” crap get in the way. Even though it may be doubtful that a high school relationship is gonna go anywhere, it’s worth a try. She said yes. That has to mean something. I’ve known some people who I don’t consider great to look at, but once you get to know and like somebody it’s almost unavoidable that they become beautiful. At least, that’s how it is for me.
    Long story short, though, give it a shot! Don’t give up because of some social values 🙂

  2. But the thing is, I feel all I use her for is social values. Not that I don’t have fun with her, I just don’t see myself wanting to get serious.

  3. Ah, I see. In that case it might be better if you cut it off and keep it at a friend level.

  4. what imagine when having a boyfriend is laying on my bedroom floor, listening to music, and talking about life.
    but thats not the reality of high school relationships. i think people value the “in a relationship with ….” on fb more than the actually relationship.
    but if youre having fun with your girl than its worth it!
    we’re young sooo save the serious stuff for later

  5. It’s true that relationships have been used to improve upon social status, although I’m not interested in exploring upon love possibilities at my age at all, much for the same reasons as yours; there’s no guarantee that any particular relationship will be one that is capable of enduring. It doesn’t seem worth it to become closely attached to somebody if ever that attachment has the likelihood of being broken, thus inducing severe emotional suffering.

  6. Sounds like y’all have similar thoughts as me.

Leave a Reply

