Relaxing Christmas

Woke up at 8 and took a shower/got ready to start the present opening.  Had some delicious cinnamon rolls for breakfast and then we moved to opening our stockings.  New socks and some gum! Typical stocking stuffers.  This year I didn’t really expect much for Christmas because first of all there’s nothing I really need and second, my main gift is that my parents are paying for me to go to the Dominican Republic with some people in my youth group for a mission trip.  It’s quite a ways away (spring break) but I still can’t wait.

I’m writing this while my mom prepares lunch/dinner.  I love the food on Christmas: honey baked ham, potatoes, lima beans, and the softest bread around.  Gotta love it..  My house doesn’t make the biggest deal of Christmas but we have our share of traditions.  Got a new shirt (which I picked out) and some new flannel pants to sleep in. I’ve wanted a lumberjack looking shirt for quite some time so that should be fun.

Am I the only one that doesn’t really ask for much on Christmas?  I hear my friends asking for computers, tvs, and video game systems.  Even months before the day I can never think of a single thing to ask for.  If I want something I’d prefer to save up and buy something myself. I guess I’m just a ‘Scrooge’ 🙂 .

I usually don’t buy my family presents but now that I have a job I figured it’d only be right to give a little.  Plus I was looking forward to having something to give rather than just take.  My mom had said my dad needed some new headphones so I got him the kind he likes, and my brother needed a new backpack so I got him that.  Just yesterday, Christmas Eve, I still hadn’t found anything for my mom.  I knew I needed to get her something because if I’m going to get anyone anything I need to at least get me mom something! I decided to drive up to hobby lobby and buy a gift card, thank God they were open! She does a lot of scrap booking for both my brother and I so I know she can put it to use.

What did y’all get/give this jolly season? Have any traditions you hold onto?

One response to “Relaxing Christmas

  1. I think my Christmas was more relaxing than yours, in the sense that it was somewhat uneventful. My family normally travels on holiday during this time of year, but scheduling concerns prevented us from doing so this time.

Leave a Reply

